Someone stated that they did not know that I found polygamy to be unbiblical. Although this statement seems astounding to me, I have chosen to take my part of the responsibility for any confusion, and provide clarification. Since the statement was made publicly on the Internet, it seems proper and prudent to also state the clarification publicly on the Internet. I do not want anyone to get the wrong idea about what we believe, especially on such an important topic.

When we said “God designed marriage for one man and one woman,” this is an explicit statement against polygamy, as well as each of the following:

  • When I was discussing qualifications for elders in the church, one example I used for someone who was a novice in the Scriptures, thus disqualified, is if they disagree that God’s design for marriage is between one man and one woman.
  • When I was explaining that a certain person’s doctrine had points that were seriously wrong, I offered polygamy as an example, since it was so obviously wrong.
  • I said Jesus expected that anyone should be able to see, from Genesis, that God designed marriage for one man and one woman. When Jesus pointed this out, He was exhorting us to a standard that was established from the beginning of creation. Those who lived in accord with this design received a blessing, and those who did not, suffered the consequences.

If I have said anything that could be misinterpreted to be positive, or even neutral, towards polygamy, please accept my apologies. I thought it was plain and clear.

